Obtaining your Michigan Fishing or Hunting License
In Michigan you are required by law to purchase a license
if you plan on doing any fishing or hunting, for all people
17 years of age and older. If a child is between the ages
12 to 16 they must take a classroom taught boating course.
Residents may purchase fishing licenses good for one day
or all season long. There are two types of licenses for residents:
One is good for all types of fish, and the other is good for
all fish except for salmon and trout. For nonresidents there
are also a few choices on the type of fishing license they
may purchase at a minimal cost. Be sure to ask about special
discounts for Michigan residents age 65 years and older and
also for Armed Forces members. Discounts are also available
for the purchase of 4 or more licenses for the same person.
In order to obtain your hunters license, any resident born
after January 1, 1960 must take a hunter safety education
class and receive a certificate. Most states do require that
hunters carry this certificate while hunting.
For more information on obtaining your Fishing or Hunting
License please visit Michigan's
Department of Natural Resources